Writing business

Frazier and Knapp win writers’ award as NFL assistant coaches

Buffalo Bills defensive coordinator Leslie Frazier and the late Greg Knapp were selected as Paul “Dr. Winners of the Z” Zimmerman Award by Professional Football Writers of America.

Frazier and Knapp are the 19th and 20th recipients of the Dr. Z award, instituted by the PFWA in 2014.

The Dr. Z Award is given for lifetime achievement as an NFL assistant coach. The award is named after Zimmerman, who covered the NFL for 29 years as Sports Illustrated’s top professional football editor.

Zimmerman is widely regarded as one of the most influential football writers of all time. learn the game – and try to learn how to write about the game. He started covering the NFL in 1966 and he started at Sports Illustrated in 1979. Zimmerman stayed at SI until his writing career was over. interrupted by a series of attacks in November 2008. He was president of the PFWA during the 1982 season.

Frazier is in his 24th season as an NFL coach in 2022, and his sixth with Buffalo as defensive coordinator. He has also been an assistant head coach for the Bills since 2020. In 2021, Buffalo had the NFL’s No. 1 total defense in yards allowed and No. 1 scoring defense.

And in 2020, the defense was third in total takeaways. Frazier’s Buffalo defenses have been ranked in the NFL’s top five for total yards in three of the past four seasons.

Knapp had just started his 26th season as an NFL assistant coach when he was killed in a bicycle accident in July 2021 after joining the New York Jets as a passing game coordinator.

He was hired by the 49ers in 1995, and he served as San Francisco’s offensive quality control coach (1995-97), quarterbacks coach (1998-2000) and offensive coordinator (2001-03 ).

Knapp served as offensive coordinator for Atlanta (2004-06), Oakland (2007-08) and Seattle (2009). He was the quarterbacks coach at Houston in 2010-11, and he returned to the Raiders as offensive coordinator in 2012. He joined Denver in 2013 as quarterbacks coach, and he added coaching duties. coordinator of passing games from 2014 to 16. He joined Atlanta as quarterbacks coach (2018-20), before being hired by the Jets.

Other nominees for the Dr. Z award in 2022 were Pittsburgh Steelers linebackers coach/defensive coordinator Keith Butler, the late defensive line coach Bobb McKittrick and the late defensive coordinator Floyd Peters.


More AP NFL: https://apnews.com/hub/nfl and https://apnews.com/hub/pro-32 and https://twitter.com/AP_NFL